Concordia Alumni Networks and Testimonials

Graduates for Concordia University’s online programs receive the same great career and education benefits & services as our campus graduates. We encourage you to browse our official alumni section and take advantage of events and ways to stay connected with us.

Ways to keep in touch:

What Our Alumni and Faculty Are Saying

YouTube Preview Image

Messages from our Alumni

We are proud of all Concordia graduates, and we invite them to share what they have to say about our programs. Hear about why others like you decided to pursue an advanced education and how Concordia helped them achieve their goals.

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

I want to couple my business background with education and teach adult learners.

- Lynda Bradford, M.Ed., July 2013 
eLearning/Technology Education

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

As a first generation college graduate, I found it necessary to continue my pursuit of excellence by expanding my mind through this rigorous program. I chose this degree to better prepare myself in the direction of school administration.

- Neville Boone, M.Ed., March 2014 
Educational Leadership

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

I have several professional goals--the most important of which is to eventually be a "teacher of the year" at my school or school district. I feel as though learning more about my trade would provide information on how to truly become a master teacher.
- James Hughes, M.Ed., December 2013 
Teacher Leadership

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

[Earning a master's] allowed me to accomplish a lifelong goal, helped me further my academics in my career, and allowed me to reinforce what I did in the classroom.
- Stephanie Baird, M.Ed. 
Mathematics

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

I intend to live overseas and teach in international schools for the foreseeable future, and to become an ever more proficient ESL teacher. These goals were quite specifically the reason for pursuing this degree.
- David Cotter, M.Ed., March 2014 
ESOL (K-Adult)

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

I've got five kids at home that are just in awe that I was able to continue my goal [of earning my master's] … and do the things that I wanted to do.
- Stephanie Lahrman, M.Ed. 
Educational Leadership

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

I want to make a difference in the lives of those I teach.

- Lynda Bradford, M.Ed., July 2013 
eLearning/Technology Education

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

The degree is important not so much for the folks in Atlanta who know and trust me, but more for those I want to reach via the Internet who don't know me [personally]. A respected degree from a respected institution is very important, in my opinion. Those M.Ed. initials carry weight.

- Paige Garwood, M.Ed., July 2013 
eLearning/Technology Education

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

[The master's program] makes me more understanding of … how to deliver [my lesson plans] to second-language learners.
- Tero Talamoa, M.Ed. 
Mathematics

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

[My master's degree] means more of an opportunity for me in a supervisory role, and to help other teachers who are working in the classroom with young children.

- Alison Dundas, M.Ed. 
Early Childhood Education

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

My goals are to always find better ways and methods to serve my students and share this information with my colleagues.
- Robbi Ashbaugh, M.Ed., January 2014 
The Inclusive Classroom (SPED)

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

Occupying any position along the education continuum is a sincere privilege, so from teaching assistant to establishment owner -- or any combinations [in between] -- is of interest to me throughout my professional life.
- Carla Burton, M.Ed., December 2013 
Educational Leadership

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

… simply having the degree designation has gotten the attention of many [prospective] employers.

- Lynda Bradford, M.Ed., July 2013 
eLearning/Technology Education

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

Earning my master's has been a big achievement. I started my education with a bachelor's in 1990, and I've always wanted to have a master's degree.

- Lynn Chapman, M.Ed. 
Reading

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

Getting my degree was important because it gives me an opportunity to be a better example for my students and colleagues.
- Patricia Williams, M.Ed., September 2013 
The Inclusive Classroom (SPED)

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

I pursued a master's degree ... to help facilitate my transition [from the business arena to education] and to broaden my educational background.

- Lynda Bradford, M.Ed., July 2013 
eLearning/Technology Education

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

Every educator in the throes of gaining on-the-job experience needs to fortify that experiential enrichment with a formal education.
- Carla Burton, M.Ed., December 2013 
Educational Leadership

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

I am getting my Master's in Special Education because I want to build on my skills to better support my students and their families.

- Dawn Rosenlund, M.Ed., January 2014 
Special Education (Early Childhood / Elementary)

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

I fulfilled a goal that I set a long time ago and said that I wanted to do.
- Sabrina Simon Chambliss, M.Ed. 
Early Childhood Education

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

Earning my master's has meant so much, not only personally, but also professionally.

- Evelyn Javelosa, M.Ed. 
Educational Leadership

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

My goal [is] to enhance my skills and increase the number of subjects I could teach well.

- Wendy Dwyer, M.Ed., July 2013 
eLearning/Technology Education

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

Teachers are full-range educators now, and … teaching automatically [implies] taking on duties and roles beyond the onetime boundaries of the profession.
- Carla Burton, M.Ed., December 2013 
Educational Leadership

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

I pursued the M.Ed. because I feel that one who is not learning is not really teaching, and my core professional goal is to consistently be the best teacher I can.
- Carla Burton, M.Ed., December 2013 
Educational Leadership

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

Stick to your goals; do all your work a week in advance; do not quit. Get to know your fellow cohorts, keep dreaming, and keep believing.

- Neville Boone, M.Ed., March 2014 
Educational Leadership

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

[My master's] gives me a better understanding about my profession and what I do, and enables me to be in a position to help other teachers.

- Corvina Etsitty, M.Ed. 
Mathematics

Why did you pursue an advanced degree?

[My master's] means opportunities. In our school district, you need to have a master's in order to go into administration, so [my degree] is opening up some more doors for myself.
- Joy Straub, M.Ed. 
Educational Leadership

Students from across the country study at Concordia University, working in cohorts, collaborating on challenging topics, and developing effective responses and approaches that help them become better educators. We are proud to play a part in our students’ impact as educators, and we deeply value the role our students play in purporting Concordia’s vision.

“If this is really what you want to do with your life, if changing lives and exposing people to the possibilities of knowledge, then education is the most honorable profession.” – Edgar Mitchell

“The faculty were always available, always willing to answer any questions, they made themselves readily available to any kind of situation that might arise.” – Judith Marsh

“It wasn’t what I thought a Master’s Program would be. It was far more than I thought it would be.” – Margo Umbright

“I think because every day you are online talking to someone, either the instructor or other people in your cohort, you really have a sense of belonging and you’re always in contact with people.” – Jane Louise Beswick

For more testimonials about our online degree programs from students and alumni, visit our Concordia University Online YouTube channel.

Messages from our Faculty

Concordia University takes pride in its teachers. The selection process contains three steps in order to choose the absolute best possible teachers from around the world.

All of Concordia’s online teachers are administrators and teachers themselves, which allows them to relate to their students on an entirely different level.

“Every time I teach a course I learn so much from my students. We learn together because there’s this constant interaction and dialogue going on.”Dana Barbarick, Education Program Leadership

“As big as we get, we’re always going to know who you are. We will know you by name, we will know you by how you write in online courses, we will know you by your voice, and we will know you as a very important human being.” – Joe Mannion, Dean of College of Education

Where are Concordia University – Online Students?


View Concordia University Online Alumni and Students in a larger map

Learn more about our online degree programs

Online
On Campus
Yes! By submitting this form I ask to receive email, texts and calls about degree programs on behalf of Concordia University - Portland, and agree automated technology may be used to dial the number(s) I provided. I understand this consent is not required to enroll.